The History Of Benson & Clegg

Benson & Clegg was founded in 1937 by Harry Benson and Thomas Clegg at its original premises of 34 Bury Street London SW1. After thirty years cutting experience they decided the time was right for them to branch out and bring their own unique style of tailoring to customers. It wasn't until 1976 that Benson & Clegg moved to its historic premises of Number 9 Piccadilly Arcade on London's famous Jermyn Street.

Over the years the company branched out into a large range of menswear accessories such as neckwear, buttons, badges and cufflinks, all of which was inspired by our tailoring heritage and dedication to classic British style.

The company has a strong royal connection. Back in 1944 Benson & Clegg was granted a Royal Warrant to His Majesty King George VI as his official tailors, entitling the company to display the royal coat of arms. Then in 1992 we were granted a further Royal Warrant to HRH The Prince Of Wales for the supply of buttons, badges and military neckwear.

Today the business is owned by Barry Austin, Mark Gordon and Tony Martin (pictured left).

For over 75 years our company has grown to become one of London's most well known and respected providers of true bespoke tailoring to the modern gentleman. Combined wtih our large range of accessories, we have the ability to provide everything a gentleman needs for a smart and stylish wardrobe to cater for all occasions.

 

Payment secured by SagePay or PayPal  AMEX, VISA & MasterCard

© 2014 - 2017 Benson and Clegg
Website design by Yippee Design & iimco, hosted by Hypergram